Social Work (B.A.)

Program structure

Structure of the program

The Social Work Bachelor’s degree program social work is comprised of six semesters. These consist of different modules.

First study stage

The first and second semester form the first study stage. Comprehensive basic knowledge on the Social Work subject is taught in the two semesters. Moreover, students are given insight into the subjects of Education, Psychology, Law and Sociology.

The so-called mentor program is an internship completed alongside the studies. Here, the students intensively deal with a special work field of Social Work. The module takes place over several semesters and will first be completed in the third semester.

Second study stage

The remaining four semesters form the second stage of study. In the third, fourth and fifth semesters, students expand their knowledge of the target audiences, the methods and the legal background of social work. In addition, students learn to reflect on their profession taking ethical aspects into account.

In the second study stage, the students chose two in-depth specializations and two compulsory elective modules. In addition, two block seminars must be completed. In the fourth and fifth semesters, a practice project will also be done. This is carried out in cooperation with social work institutions. In finding suitable internships, the students benefit from the fact that the degree program is networked with numerous social services regional providers. In addition, two block seminars (project, excursion, simulation) must be completed.



In the second stage of studies, students in the Social Work degree program select two specializations, each of which consists of three modules. The following specializations currently can be chosen: